Elyshia Polkinghorne

Name: 
Elyshia Polkinghorne

Role: 
Performance Coach

Place of study and qualification: 

  • Certificate III/IV in Fitness and Personal Training
  • Foundation/Development/Intermediate Netball Coaching Accreditation
  • Currently finishing Year 12 at The Rockhampton Grammar School

Skills in your role: 
Circuit training, Sport specific training, Netball skills training, Junior athlete programs

Work experience in the industry:

  • CQU Sports Centre
  • Vector Health
  • 3+ Years Netball Coaching
  • Assisted Junior Netball and Rugby League Clinics

Favourite topic you have learnt about or want to learn about:
My parents are well and truly sport enthusiasts, and you could say that I am well-rounded when it comes to sports. Specifically, your more common sports such as netball, touch football and ruby, I am experienced in when it comes to the tactical awareness, game strategies and the overall sport specific training side. However, I would love to broaden my views ever further and learn different training techniques used for a diverse number of sports. I love to get down to the technical details of an athlete’s performance and brainstorm ways to increase that performance from every angle.

What you most enjoy about your job:
The best part about my job is meeting new people. Every single client is different with their own goals and challenges that they face. It takes an extremely strong sense of character to open up and share their story. Forming that personal connection and assisting them to push past their own adversities is not only character building for them, but also for myself. The day that you see the smile light up their face after their goal has been achieved is the reason why I started coaching in the first place. To know that what you do, big or small, goes towards making an impact in someone else’s life. 

Top achievement to this date (professionally):
To this date, my top achievement would be receiving this job I have at Vector Health. Not a lot of people my age can confidently say that they know what they want to do with their life, and not only do I know, but I am currently doing it at 17 years of age. I still have a lot of work ahead of me and am super excited to go off and study in a few years’ time. But for now, I have worked hard to achieve what I have, and I cannot wait to watch and learn from my fellow team at Vector Health.

Hobbies outside of work:
I have a passion for Netball and all things sport related. When I am not at school or at the netball courts, you can find me at the gym. You could say I am a bit of a gym junkie and am always constantly pushing myself. I love spending time outdoors and exercising, getting my daily dose of vitamin D and fresh air. Road tripping with the fam would have to be an all-time favourite though. I am a sucker for a good adventure, whether it be shredding it up in the snow or hiking up the Blue Mountains. I love trying new things and stepping outside of my comfort zone. Whenever you see me, I will most likely be knee deep in some new challenge I have decided to dive headfirst into.

Scroll to Top